It is Monthly Bagel Date Day!

This morning we had our monthly bagel date!

 

In 2011, we let our love of bagels get a little too crazy (they were nearly an everyday occurence for a while!) so we decided to have them once a month in 2012 and have fun with it by making it a date.  This month, we chose Bruegger’s Bagels because I had this coupon:

(who doesn’t love a good exclamation mark on a coupon?!  It’s like the coupon is just as excited about the deal as I am!)

Matt also had a coupon so we saved $3.58!  Needless to say, it has been a good start to our Sunday.  (Did you know that Bruegger’s has a unlimited refill mug club?  Abby describes it in a This Life in Motion post)

I have to admit that I debated this month’s date a little bit because the bagel and cream cheese is 12 of my 26 Weight Watchers points for the day.  I thought about dipping into my 49 weekly bonus points but I did plenty of that for my wine at Farkle night.

 

I plan to work out later today to gain activity points and rely a lot on hearty servings of fruits and vegetables to get me through the day.  I usually like to keep my breakfasts under 6 points, but the monthly bagel date is worth the splurge. 🙂 

Speaking of breakfast and Weight Watchers, this is the awesome breakfast that Matt and I made after we got home from the Juvenile Diabetes walk yesterday (5 total points and it even has cheese!):

The egg scramble serves 2 and is 3 points per serving:

  • 2/3 cup Egg Beaters Egg Whites
  • 1/2 cup fat free milk
  • 1 tsp crushed red pepper flakes
  • bell peppers
  • celery
  • 1/4 cup shredded cheddar cheese

The Sara Lee Delightful bread is only 1 point per slice (most other breads are 2-3 points per slice)  and the apple butter is 1 point per tablespoon.

Where do you choose to splurge in your diet?  What is one of your favorite healthy meals?

2 responses to “It is Monthly Bagel Date Day!

  1. Sharon Kinard

    Sounds yummy! I also used to eat bagels on a regular basis until I joined Weight Watchers and realized how many points they are! It’s crazy! Anyway I splurge on French Fries…did you notice that I intentionally left off the “fried” because it makes me feel less guilty:)

  2. Sharon Kinard

    Oops, it does say fries, I was thinking french “fried” potatoes? Silly me. I forgot to add that I keep a running list on my iphone where I rate a restaurants french fries. This determines if we will eat there again…and it doesn’t matter if they have the best of something else, french fries is a deal breaker since that’s the one thing I enjoy when we eat out.

Leave a Reply

