My day of maximizing points

I’ve been battling a cold for a few days so I decided to work from home today for quick access to a bed if I needed a nap to get through the day.  This meant I got to enjoy my breakfast and coffee while cruising through my work emails in the morning!  This is a relaxing part of my day that I’ve missed since I stopped eating breakfast at work last year.

BREAKFAST = 4 POINTS

I started my day with my former staple before I discovered protein shakes last year – Oatmeal.  It was three points for 1/2 cup of dry oatmeal, zero(!!!) points for the banana, and one point for 1-1/2 teaspoons of peanut butter.  This is a good example of where I eat healthy but have a problem with portion control.  Before Weight Watchers, I would have two tablespoons of peanut butter in my oatmeal.  Then, I discovered that was a bajillion points so I stopped adding peanut butter.  This morning, I had the bright idea that I could still have peanut butter if I just have LESS of it!  Genious!  (and, wouldn’t you know, it was still a good amount)

I switched to black coffee about six weeks ago so my coffee is now zero(!!!) points too.  It was only one point when I added skim milk, but somedays that one point can make all the difference in the world (or my day – I guess there is no need to get dramatic here).

LUNCH = 6 POINTS

I missed my morning protein shake so I had one of those for lunch 🙂  I can’t miss out on my 18g of fiber + 20g of protein in one delicious meal.  You can check out my love for my shake in a prior posting of mine.  My morning shake is six points – four for the protein powder, zero(!!!) for the berries, one point for 1/2 cup milk, and one point for the fiber powder. 

SNACK = 2 POINTS

Throughout the afternoon, I just munched on carrots.  A lot of carrots.  I love carrots AND I bought a gigantic bag at Sam’s Club on Friday.   Oh yeah, then I ate two thin mints for two points.  Yummm…. 

DINNER = 6 POINTS

By the time 5:15 rolled around, I had to kick it into high gear to get out of the house for my Blogging for Beginner’s class (being taught by Jen of Prior Fat Girl).  Luckily, we put our new rice cooker to use over the weekend so we had some leftover cooked brown rice.  I threw 1/2 cup of brown rice (2 points) into a bowl with 1/4 cup of cottage cheese (1 point), 1/4 cup raisins (3 points) and some cinnamon.

I mixed the ingredients together, microwaved it for 60 seconds (stirring halfway through) and quickly enjoyed my warm delicious dinner.  The cottage cheese melts a little so it ends up tasting like rice pudding.  YUM.

But, now I have 8 points left for the day!  That is a lot.  Most days are not like this because I tend to use 6 points at breakfast, 8 points for lunch and 12 points for dinner.

It looks like I can enjoy a few more thin mints and maybe some hot chocolate before I head to bed 🙂   

Did you have a healthy start to the work week?  What is a meal you can quickly throw together in 15 minutes? 

7 responses to “My day of maximizing points

  1. I love peanut butter too, but it’s an eye-opener to realize how many points it is! This is my first week back on WW after a hiatus (ha!), so just by default this week has been healthier- no post-work gorging on whatever is easy, premade lunches that don’t involve someone delivering. Still trying to find something satisfying for breakfast. Thanks for the post!

    • Breakfast “on the go” is really hard. I used to keep oatmeal, raisins and cinnamon in my desk at work and just have that for breakfast when I got to work. I did this for years until I started eating breakfast at home last year.

      When I want something quick, I make a shake and put it in a to-go cup. You could try: greek yogurt (for protein), frozen fruit, water, and spinach/kale for a smoothie. You won’t taste the veggies at all but you get a lot more nutrients. I haven’t tried this shake, but it would be a way around using protein powder.

  2. Dana Wilson

    Just saw your blog Anna, and I am definitely going to start following! I’m quasi doing WW as well, so it’s fun to hear others ideas. Have you tried Almond Milk in your coffee? It’s zero points for the amount I use and creamier than skim milk. Give it a try!

    • I’m glad you found it! I haven’t tried Almond Milk in my coffee but love it in my protein shake. Thanks for the suggestion! I think Almond Milk also has more calcium than regular milk.

  3. Dana Wilson

    Oh also, for breakfast ideas my favorites are….

    1. Steel cut oatmeal with a tablespoon of craisins and a tablespoon of walnuts=6 points
    2. 2 egg omelet with spinach, tomatoes, mushrooms and a tablespoon of reduced fat feta cheese=6 points or you could go southwest with peppers, tomatoes, onions, cheddar cheese and salsa
    3. What I call my power breakfast: 1/2 cup of plain greek yogurt, one tablespoon of natural peanut butter (less sugar), 1-2 tablespoons of raisins and a sliced up banana=6 points

    • Those all sound very good – thanks for the suggestions! We also really like Almond Butter. Have you tried that before?

  4. SO far the week was up to a good healthy start! A meal in less then 15 minutes? depends: breakfast options are endless, oatmeal, smoothies, yogurt with berries and granola! for luch I would say a salad, or a quick stir fry if I am at home, same applied to dinner, maybe some whole wheat pasta with shrimp since it cooks very quick, or a tuna sald using canned tuna, nut butter sandvich with carrots on the side!

Leave a Reply

